ESNEFT Libraries: Resources : Journals

Thousands of journals waiting to be read by you.

While all NHS staff enjoy access to a valuable collection of online journals which are purchased nationally, ESNEFT Libraries unlock an even richer universe of knowledge specifically selected for our staff's diverse needs.

Elevate your Expertise:

Targeted Journals: Access peer-reviewed publications covering your specific area of practice, ensuring you stay on top of the latest advancements and best practices.
In-depth Research: Delve into specialised topics for deeper understanding and informed decision-making.
Evidence-Based Practice: Stay grounded in the latest research with access to high-quality, credible sources, empowering you to deliver exceptional patient care.

This page is best used if looking for different types of journals. If you are searching for a particular article try using the DOI search box in the tabs below or use the Library Hub and type in the article title to find how to get full-text access. Please email esneftlibrary@esneft.nhs.uk for help if needed.

NHS Library Hub - ESNEFT The NHS Library Hub connects health cares staff and learners to high quality, NHS-funded, knowledge and evidence resources in one place. This link will take you the ESNEFT instance of the NHS Library Hub
- This link opens in a new window

Searching for Journals

An active NHS OpenAthens account is required. No account? Register with your ESNEFT email below or visit our OpenAthens page for more info.

Already have an account? Explore the tabs to discover how to access library-subscribed journals.

For the smoothest experience: Download the LibKey Nomad browser extension. It grants one-click access to thousands of articles!

OpenAthens Registration Form Link to OpenAthens Registration Form Form will open in new window

What is Browzine?

Meet BrowZine, your powerful yet user-friendly tool designed to streamline your research experience. Imagine having thousands of academic journals across various disciplines at your fingertips, all presented in a clean, intuitive interface. That's the magic of BrowZine!

We do not suggest using BrowZine for in-depth research or searching. To carry out in-depth research please head to our database page.

Access:

To access use the link below, or use the search box to type in a journal e.g. British Journal of Nursing.
If we subscribe, Browzine will highlight what years you can access and will provide a links to full-text versions of articles.

BrowZine - Journal Search Search what journals the library has access to. You can browse by specific title or subject.

What is LibKey Nomad?

A FREE browser extension for Apple Safari, Firefox, Chrome, Edge, Brave and Vivaldi, designed to make accessing full text articles easier.
This will link you seamlessly to full text, or to a request page if full text is not available.
Once installed select “East Suffolk and North Essex NHS Foundation Trust” as your institution.
After that, it simply automatically scans for scholarly content wherever you may roam and an icon will appear taking you directly to the article, or a request page.
Find out more and download using the link below.

LibKey Nomad A free browser extension you can add to your phone, tablet or computer. With LibKey Nomad you will be able to get one-click access to articles that are avaible to ESNEFT Libraries.
You will still need an OpenAthens account to access full-text articles, but LibKey Nomad will help make this process quicker and easier.

LibKey Nomad Banner LibKey Buttons

DOI Search Box

What is a DOI?

DOI stands for Digital Object Identifier. It is a unique string made up of numbers, letters and symbols and is used as a way to easily identify and quickly retrieve a journal article or document.
Paste a DOI into the search box and it will search across our databases for access to the article. If it finds the article, you will be taken to the journal homepage so you can access it in full.
If we don’t have access it will take you the NHS Library Hub Request page, where you will need to click ‘Request a Copy' and complete the request form. We will then try to obtain a free pdf copy for you from one of our partner libraries.

What is a PMID?

A PMID is another number that uniquely identifies a journal article, BUT they are only given if the article is indexed in PubMed.
The PMID number can also be used in the search box above.
Example below:

While we recommend using Browzine for a smoother experience, you can also the Ebsco A-Z list link below to see what journals we are subscribed to and links to access platforms

E-Journals A-Z Click here for an A-Z list of journals the library is subscribed to; the years we have access to and links to providers to search that specific journal

Journal Collections

While we reccommend using Browzine or the Library Hub to search for journals, you can search and access some journals directly through the platforms where they are hosted and we have collections.

Scroll down to find a list of available platforms and instructions on how to access them.

What is MAG Complete?

Dive Deep into Healthcare Knowledge with MAH Complete!

Empower your learning and practice with MAH Complete, the ultimate online library for nursing, midwifery, and allied health. Access over 65,000 peer-reviewed articles across 30 renowned journals, including (full list and links on the next tab):

MAH Complete offers:

Comprehensive coverage: Explore diverse topics from 1992 to present, staying informed on the latest research and best practices.
Practical & accessible: Dive into peer-reviewed content designed to support your education and professional development.
User-friendly: Search and browse effortlessly with the intuitive interface.

To Access:

Click on the MAH Complete Links tab.
Clink on the Journal you want to search.
When prompted select 'Access through your institution.'
Type in East Suffolk and North Essex Foundation Trust.
Enter your OpenAthens deatils.

Mark Allen Healthcare Journals (MAH)
- This link opens in a new window

Click on the 'i' icon to find out about years of access. To access full texts you will need your NHS OpenAthens account details. Please refer to above if you need help with this.

African Journal of Midwifery and Women's Health
Access 1/10/2007-present
British Journal of Cardiac Nursing
Access 1/1/2006-present
British Journal of Community Nursing
Access 1/1/1998-present
British Journal of Healthcare Assistants
Access 1/4/2007-present
British Journal of Healthcare Management
Access 1/12/1998-present
British Journal of Hospital Medicine
Access 1/1/2005-present
British Journal of Mental Health Nursing
Access 1/1/2012-present
British Journal of Midwifery
Access 2/5/1993-present
British Journal of Neuroscience Nursing
Access 11/4/2005-present
British Journal of Nursing
Access 23/4/1992-present
British Journal of School Nursing
Access 1/9/2006-present
Dental Nursing
Access 1/2/2006-present
Gastrointestinal Nursing
Access 1/4/2006-present
Independent Nurse
Access 1/1/2005-present
International Journal of Ophthalmic Practice
Access 1/10/2010-2/2/2015
International Journal of Palliative Nursing
Access 2/1/1995-present
International Journal of Therapy and Rehabilitation
Access 1/1/2004-present
International Paramedic Practice
Access 5/9/2011-present
Journal of Aesthetic Nursing
Access 1/6/2012-present
Journal of Children's and Young People's Nursing
Access 1/5/2007-1/3/2008
Journal of Health Visiting
Access 1/1/2013-present
Journal of Kidney Care
Access 2/5/2016-present
Journal of Operating Department Practitioners
Access 1/10/2013-2/3/2015
Journal of Paramedic Practice
Access 1/10/2008-present
Journal of Prescribing Practice
Access 1/11/2019-present
Journal of Wound Care
Access 2/5/1992-present
Nursing and Residential Care
Access 1/4/1999-present
Practice Management
Access 2/1/2014-present
Practice Nursing
Access 1/1/1996-present
The Veterinary Nurse
Access 2/10/2010-present

Clinical Key Journals

Over 600 journal titles are available from ClinicalKey, including The Lancet. Most journal content starts from 2007. They cover a wide range of medical and clinical topics. You can find out more about the other feaures of ClinicalKey on our Clinical Decision Support Tools page.

To access:

Click on the link below.
Select "Log in via your Institution: OpenAthens Login."
Enter your OpenAthens deatils.

ClinicalKey Journals Online journals via ClinicalKey platform

BMJ Case Reports

Overview
ESNEFT Published Case Reports

Elevate your impact and share your valuable clinical insights with the world's largest repository of case reports: BMJ Case Reports.

Exclusive opportunity:

Publish FREE: Our institutional subscription grants you unlimited submissions for peer-reviewed publication, at no cost to you.
Reach a global audience: Gain international recognition as your work gets indexed in MEDLINE (PubMed), accessible to healthcare professionals worldwide.
Join a prestigious platform: Showcase your expertise in the award-winning BMJ Case Reports, renowned for its excellence in medical publishing

How to get a code?

Please read the instructions for authors carefully before writing and submitting your case report.
Email esneftlibrary@esneft.nhs.uk to obtain our institutional fellowship number.

You can also see some highlights of case reports that fellow ESNEFT staff have published or contributed to.

You can also search previously published reports using the link below. You will just need your OpenAthens login details to read them.

BMJ Case Reports BMJ Case Reports is an important educational resource offering a high volume of cases in all disciplines so that healthcare professionals, researchers and others can easily find clinically important information on common and rare conditions. All articles are peer reviewed and copy edited before publication.
- This link opens in a new window

BMJ Case Reports_Instructions for Authors Instructions for authors who wish to publish in BMJ Case Reports

BMJ Case Reports

Below you will find links to case reports that fellow ESNEFT staff have either published or contributed to via BMJ Case Reports.

To access full texts you will need your NHS OpenAthens account details.

This is not an exhaustive list:

Bennett S, Hutson K, Ajayi O, et alNodular fasciitis of the parotid gland engulfing the facial nerve: a conservative approachBMJ Case Reports CP 2019;12:e231203. Nodular fasciitis (NF) is a rapidly growing benign lesion rarely reported in the parotid gland. It shares cytological features with other benign and malignant parotid neoplasms and may be difficult to diagnose based on fine needle aspiration cytology alone. Given this diagnostic conundrum, surgical excision for histology is recommended to facilitate definitive diagnosis. A case with significant involvement of the facial nerve is described, which has not previously been reported in the literature. Despite features of potential malignancy, the decision was taken to biopsy the lesion and not proceed to complete excision in an attempt to reduce the risk of facial nerve injury. Expert opinion later diagnosed NF. Contrary to accepted practice, where diagnostic uncertainty remains around the malignant potential of a lesion, risks and benefits of complete excision versus a conservative approach should be carefully weighed especially when the facial nerve is involved and NF is a possible diagnosis
Hamidovic L, Khatib T, Dimitriou C, et alXEN-related hypotonous maculopathy from iatrogenic cyclodialysis cleft treated with argon laser gonio-cyclopexyBMJ Case Reports CP 2022;15:e244933. Abstract We present a previously undescribed case of a persistent hypotony maculopathy secondary to an iatrogenic cyclodialysis cleft created during XEN-45 gel stent insertion. We present this case as a further analysis of the Karimi et al case of cyclopexy by the corresponding surgeon. Following right XEN-45 implantation, our patient developed immediate and persistent postoperative hypotony for 4 weeks. Gonioscopy revealed a small cyclodialysis cleft at the 1–2 o’clock position. The cyclodialysis cleft was sealed with direct gonioscopic argon laser cyclopexy. Two months after laser treatment and total of 6 months post XEN-45 insertion, right eye visual acuity returned to 6/4 with intraocular pressure 11 mm Hg without any glaucoma medication. Here, we present details of the non-invasive safe and successful management of hypotony maculopathy secondary to the cleft using Argon laser gonio cyclopexy, with no requirement of return to theatre
Sanders G, An unexpected allergic skin reaction to peppermint oil capsulesBMJ Case Reports CP 2023;16:e252602. Peppermint oil capsules are prescribed to manage abdominal colic and distension, a common complaint in postcaesarean section patients. Arachis (peanut) oil is contained within one frequently prescribed peppermint formulation: Colpermin. This ingredient is contraindicated in patients with peanut and soya allergy; however, this is not stated in the side effects or contraindications section of the British National Formulary, or present on the medication packaging. A postpartum woman in her early 30s had an unexpected allergic reaction to the capsules, in the form of a generalised body rash, fortunately with no anaphylactic features. The patient reported the same reaction to soya in the past. After review of the patient’s clinical and medication history, Colpermin capsules were thought to be responsible for the patient’s symptoms. This case highlights the necessity for clearer documentation in prescribing formularies and on medication packaging to ensure patient safety.

Would you like know what other ESNEFT staff have published? Make sure to visit at our staff publications page for access to our regularly updated bulletins.

Health Service Journal

All ESNEFT staff have free access to the Health Service Journal online (HSJ). This is the best way to stay up to date with what’s happening across the NHS every day.

To access:

To register for access, input your personal details and email address on the registration page via the link below.
You must use your @ESNEFT email address.
HSJ content can also be accessed via the HSJ APP, available to download for free from the Apple ‘App’ Store & Google Play.

Need help?

ESNEFT Libraries are not responsible for the administration access to HSJ.
Please email customerservices@hsj.com to request access. You will then receive a welcome email within 48 hours.
If you have a username already and need a new or reset password, please head to their password rest page.