Resources

Selection of eBooks available through ESNEFT Libraries 

Hundreds of eBooks at your fingertips 

• To access eBooks you will need to have an NHS OpenAthens account associated with ESNEFT.
• If you don't have an account please register by visiting our register for OpenAthens page. 
• You can search for eBooks via the library catalogue (see below). 
• We also have access to a number of eBook platforms that you can use to search and access eBooks (see below). 
• You can also read more about eBook collections which have been purchased nationally by NHSE (link below). 
• Please email esneftlibrary@esneft.nhs.uk for help if needed.

The library catalogue is the place to search for eBooks:

• Search by topic or title (link below)
• You can filter results on the left hand side to just eBooks
• You will find a link to access the eBook in the item record (an example below)
• For eBooks, please ignore the Not on Loan status. 

• To view eBooks you will need to use your OpenAthens login details 
• Our readings lists contain both physical and eBooks.  Visit our reading list section

While most of our eBooks are listed in the library catalogue, you can search and access eBooks directly through the platforms where they are hosted.

Scroll down to find a list of available platforms and instructions on how to access them.  If you are after an eBook or audiobook via the Libby App, please head to our Libby webpage. 

There are over a 1000 eBooks available for you to read and download via ClinicalKey. They cover a wide range of medical and clinical topics. You can find out more about the other feaures of ClinicalKey on our Clinical Decision Support Tools page. 

To access:

• Click on the link below.
• Select "Log in via your Institution: OpenAthens Login." 
• Enter your OpenAthens deatils. 

EBSCO have a wide variety of eBooks on their platform.

To access: 

• Click on the link below.
• Search via topic or title, or use the left-hand menu to pick a topic.
• Choose either 'PDF Full Text' or 'EPUB Full Text' button if available. 
• Enter your OpenAthens details.

A collection of Oxford Handbooks and Oxford Specialty Handbooks is available through OUP. 

To access:

• Click the link below.
• Choose 'Access via Institution.'
• If you are on a networked trust PC on site, choose the on-site option.  You will not need to login.
• If on a personal device or off-site, choose the off-site option.  You will need to login with your OpenAthens details. 

Kortext is an eBook programme and NHS England have purchased a number of eBook collections for all NHS staff to use.  

To access:

• Click on one of the links below.
• Select the book you wish to read. 
• Enter your OpenAthens deatils 

Ovid have a selection of clinical and nursing titles. We also have special collection through them which focuses on cardiology. 

To access: 

• Click on either link below. 
• When prompted for an institution, search "NHS in England."
• Sign in with your OpenAthens details.

The Royal Marsden Manual is the definitive guide to clinical nursing skills. Written by nurses for nurses, it sets the gold standard for effective, patient-focussed nursing care.

To access

• Click on the link below.
• When prompted, choose 'Login with OpenAthens.'
• Enter your OpenAthens details.

The Maudsley Guidelines is a world-renowned reference on the safe use of medications for patients presenting with mental health problems.

To access:

• Click on the link below.
• When prompted choose "Log in via your Institution: OpenAthens Login."
• Enter your OpenAthens details.