ESNEFT Libraries: Staff Networks : LGBTQ+ Friends

Overview

LGBT Logo

ESNEFT Libraries supports the LGBTQ+ Friends Network through our wide collections of books and eBooks. We can also assist with highlighting current awareness to support the networks development.

The primary aims of the network is to:

Engage in positive change in the workplace which will allow all LGBTQIA+ staff to excel in a supportive and non-discriminatory work environment
Ensure that patient services are welcoming, non-judgemental and meet the healthcare needs of the LGBTQIA+ community

Rainbow Badge Article

The open access (free to all) article below examines the experiences of staff, who work within Children’s Health Ireland healthcare group, wearing the Health Service Executive (HSE) Rainbow Badge.

O’Dwyer, C., Kehoe, A., Shanahan, D., O’Brien, W., & Hall, D. (2024). Staff experiences of wearing the Rainbow Badge in a paediatric hospital setting: a mixed-methods survey. Archives of Disease in Childhood, 109(5), 1–6. https://doi.org/10.1136/archdisch Abstract Objective This study aimed to assess staff’s experience of wearing the Health Service Executive (HSE) Rainbow Badge, a symbol of inclusion for LGBTQ+ (lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer/questioning; + signifying inclusivity of all sexual and gender identities) people, in a paediatric hospital setting.

Books and eBooks via ESNEFT Libraries

ESNEFT Libraries have a diverse range of books, which can be borrowed by all ESNEFT staff.

To borrow physical books you will need an active library account. Visit our borrowing books page to find out more.
Please see below for some of the highlights of our physical and eBook collection.
Our full LGBTQ+ reading list can be accessed via the link below.
You can reserve books on our catalogue with your Library card number (begins within either CGH or IMR) and password.
To access an eBook, you will need an active OpenAthens account with ESNEFT. Visit our OpenAthens page for more information.
Email esneftlibrary@esneft.nhs.uk for assistance.

ESNEFT - LGBTQ+ Reading List Selection of LGBTQ+ books on the library catalogue

From ace to Ze : the little book of LGBT terms
ISBN: 9781786852847
LGBTQ Health Research by Ron Stall (Editor); Brian Dodge (Editor); José A. Bauermeister (Editor); Tonia Poteat (Editor); Chris Beyrer (Editor)
ISBN: 9781421438788

Publication Date: 2020-09-01
Queer: a Graphic History by Meg John Barker; Jules Scheele (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9781785780714

Publication Date: 2016-11-15
Queer Data by Kevin Guyan
ISBN: 9781350230729

Publication Date: 2022-01-13
Straight Jacket by Matthew Todd
ISBN: 9780552778404

Publication Date: 2018-10-01
The T in LGBT+
ISBN: 9781785044298
Transgender Employees in the Workplace by Jennie Kermode; Jane Fae (Contribution by)
ISBN: 9781785922282

Publication Date: 2017-09-21

eBooks and Audiobooks via Libby App

We also have a special collection of eBooks and Audiobooks that can be accessed via the very popular Libby app.

To get set up with the Libby app head over to our Libby webpage to find out how.
View some of our LGBTQ+ collection highlights below.
Email esneftlibrary@esneft.nhs.uk for assistance.
If you have a suggestion for an eBook or Audiobook we should add to Libby, please let us know via our suggestion form below.

ESNEFT Libby - LGBTQ+ Collection LGBTQ+ eBook and audiobooks on Libby app

Current Awareness

Below is a selection of journal articles that have been published since January 2025, which focus on health related topics within the LGBTQ+ community

To access:

Click on the links of the articles below - hover over the 'i' button to see the abstract
The green open padlock symbol means the article is free to read and does not require a login
Some articles may require an OpenAthens account to access full-text versions. You can find more about getting an account on our OpenAthens page. If you work for ESNEFT and need help accessing any article please contact the library
This section will be updated every six months
If you would like to inquire about a more regular current awareness bulletin, please email esneftlibrary@esneft.nhs.uk

Bai, Y., Kim, C., Levitskaya, E., Burneiko, N., Ienciu, K., & Chum, A. (2025). Long-term trends in mental health disparities across sexual orientations in the UK: a longitudinal analysis (2010-2021). Social psychiatry and psychiatric epidemiology, 60(5), Abstract Backgrounds: In the context of increasing hate crimes, legislative challenges, and anti-LGBTQ + sentiment, we conducted the first study that comprehensively examined long-term mental health disparities across sexual orientations in the UK from 2010 to 2021. Prior studies predominantly relied on cross-sectional or limited longitudinal designs, thus failing to capture evolving trends over a decade and providing crucial insights into the dynamics of mental health challenges faced by sexual minorities, essential for devising targeted public health interventions and policies.
Braybrook, D., Rosa, W. E., Norman, C., Harding, R., & Bristowe, K. (2025). The inclusion of LGBTQ + people within UK health policy: a critical discourse analysis. International journal for equity in health, 24(1), 88. https://doi.org/10.1186/s12939-025-0 Abstract Background: Health policymakers can leverage change to improve equity in access to care, patient experiences and clinical outcomes. Despite legal progress to reduce health inequalities, social and systemic injustices persist and lesbian, gay, bisexual, trans and queer (LGBTQ+) people have increased risk of some health conditions and poorer health outcomes linked to the discrimination they experience. In 2022, 42 regional integrated care systems were created across England to reduce health inequalities and improve the wellbeing of their local population.
Connolly, D. J., Meads, C., Wurm, A., Brown, C., Bayliss, J., Oakes-Monger, T. C., & Berner, A. M. (2025). Transphobia in the United Kingdom: a public health crisis. International journal for equity in health, 24(1), 155. https://doi.org/10.1186/s12939-02 Abstract Background: The moral panic surrounding trans, non-binary, and gender diverse (TGD) lives in the United Kingdom (UK) has been incited by high-level political and government actors and exacerbated by pervasive misinformation in social and press media. This hostile environment contributes to increasing interpersonal violence and social exclusion experienced by TGD people. Structural and interpersonal discrimination—conceptualised as minority stress—is understood to elicit physiological and psychological stress responses that predispose TGD individuals to a range of adverse health outcomes, including cardiovascular disease, and risk behaviours such as alcohol use.
Davison, K., Hubbard, K., Marks, S., Spandler, H., & Wynter, R. (2024). An Inclusive History of LGBTQ+ Aversion Therapy: Past Harms and Future Address in a UK Context. Review of General Psychology, 29(1), 33-48. https://doi.org/10.1177/10892680241289904 ( Abstract From the 1950s, aversion therapy gained an international foothold as a behaviourist means to alter what was then considered ‘deviant’ behaviour. Using primary research by psychologists, psychiatrists and other clinical figures published in professional journals, recently published personal testimonies by those who underwent such ‘treatment’, and drawing on the latest historical research, this article maps aversion therapy practices used to ‘treat’ LGBTQ+ people in the UK, mainly in the 1960s and 1970s. We outline our approach to this history and contextualise it by drawing attention to ongoing comparative issues of banning LGBT conversion therapy in the present. Next, we outline the emergence of aversion therapy internationally and identify historical ‘hotspot’ hospitals and universities in the UK, with the nation itself an international ‘hotspot’ for aversion. We then employ the case study of the 2022 report from the University of Birmingham, to demonstrate how such investigations of difficult pasts might be most effectively realised and highlight the potential for a ‘truth and reconciliation’ approach to this history. Finally, we call upon psy-organisations, university and research institutions, and other stakeholders to take this history seriously in effort to address past and ongoing harms enacted upon LGBTQ+ people.
Muschialli, L., Coduri-Fulford, S., Garbett, Z., & Connolly, D. J. (2025). Twelve tips for LGBT+-inclusive undergraduate and postgraduate medical education. Medical Teacher, 47(1), 43–49. https://doi.org/10.1080/0142159X.2024.2344617 Abstract Sexual and gender minority (LGBT+) populations continue to experience worse health outcomes and reduced healthcare access compared to their cisgender, heterosexual counterparts, perpetuated by a lack of sufficient LGBT+-specific healthcare education within medical schools. Developing educational material that encourages self-reflective, proactive, and affirmative practice has been identified as a mechanism for increasing the quality of doctor-patient relationships and breaking down barriers in healthcare access for LGBT + communities. In this article, we provide twelve tips for those designing and delivering undergraduate and postgraduate medical curricula. We summarise evidence-based approaches to inclusive care, key overarching concepts that curricula should include and common issues to be avoided. We hope these tips provide a standard against which existing curricula and teaching practices can be appraised and form the basis of future educational material.
Sherriff, S. (2025). A qualitative evaluation of lesbian and gay mothers’ experiences of midwifery care. British Journal of Midwifery, 33(4), 188–198. https://doi.org/10.12968/bjom.2024.0050 Abstract Background/Aims Facilitation of care for lesbian mothers and the effects of midwifery on their experiences is an understudied area of practice. This study explored detailed accounts of midwifery care experienced by lesbian and gay women in the UK, aiming to explore their holistic recollections of accessing midwifery services and identify any learning opportunities to improve equality in clinical practice.
Silver, C., Calvey, R., Martin, A., & Butterworth, J. (2025). Towards Best-Practice Healthcare for Transgender Patients: Quality Improvement in United Kingdom General Practice. Healthcare (Basel, Switzerland), 13(4), 353. https://doi.org/10.3390/healthcar Abstract Introduction: The ongoing care of transgender patients in United Kingdom (UK) general practice (GP) is hampered by a lack of UK primary care guidelines regarding the monitoring of treatments, despite the key role that general practice has in holistic lifelong care. This quality improvement project aimed to audit the monitoring of treatments and health screening in a GP practice population, across two large practices in southwest England, in order to drive local improvement and to identify gaps in wider healthcare support for this population.