Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Training

Next Dates

The next Critical Appraisal session will take place on:

Thur 2nd Feb 

2-4pm

Via MS Teams

The next Health Literacy session will take place on:

Mon 20th Feb

1-2pm

Via MS Teams

The next Journal Club session will take place on:

18th Apr 

12-1pm

Via MS Teams

Integrated care- How Health and Social Care Work Together- Is it Working?

To book for any of the above session please use the booking form.

 

Preceptorship Training

We offer three sessions for preceptees:

  • An Introduction to Critical Appraisal - mandatory
  • Health Literacy- mandatory
  • Journal Club- optional

Dates are listed on the next tabs, along with a booking form.

All attendees receive a certificate of attendance, and registers of attendance are shared with the post-registration education team so training records are updated.

If the dates are not convenient, you may book on any of the general session dates offered. Please click the links on the left hand side of this page to access the general session dates for critical appraisal and health literacy.

 Please indicate you are part of the preceptorship programme on the general booking form so we can ensure your training record is updated by the post-registration team.

For any enquiries regarding non-library preceptorship training, please contact the post-registration education team 

An Introduction to Critical Appraisal - Preceptorship Session

This workshop will guide you step-by-step through the appraisal of a quantitative research paper.

Some pre-reading will be required and this will be sent to you before the session.

2023

Thursday 2nd February 2-4pm - FULLY BOOKED 

Wednesday 1st March 11-1pm

Wednesday 12th April 2-4pm

Thursday 11th May 10-12pm

Tuesday 6th June 2-4pm

Thursday 6th July 10-12pm

Wednesday 6th September 1-3pm

Monday 2nd October 2-4pm

Tuesday 14th November 3-5pm

Thursday 7th December 10-12pm

2024

Wednesday 10th January 11-1pm

Monday 5th February 2-4pm

Tuesday 5th March 2-4pm

Health Literacy - Preceptorship session

This workshop will help you understand what health literacy is and the impact low health literacy has on patients and visitors. It will also give you practical techniques to use when interacting with patients and visitors.

2023

Monday 20th February 13.00 – 14.00 - FULLY BOOKED

Wednesday 29th March 11.00 – 12.00

Monday 17th April 2-3pm

Tuesday 16th May 10-11am

Tuesday 6th June 10.30-11.30am

Wednesday 12th July 10-11am

Friday 18th August 11-12pm

Tuesday 5th September 1-2pm

Tuesday 10th October 9.30-10.30am

Friday 17th November 10.30-11.30am

Tuesday 12th December 12-1pm

2024

Thursday 11th January 10-11am

Tuesday 20th February 11.30-12.30pm

Tuesday 12th March 1-2pm

Preceptorship Journal Club

Journal clubs allow you to openly discuss different journal articles with other preceptees over a virtual platform. 

This counts towards your participatory learning and is a great way to discuss different viewpoints on key issues in healthcare today.

We suggest that if you are unfamiliar with critiquing articles then you attend the critical appraisal study session beforehand.

The forthcoming dates and topics are listed below.

Please note: monthly journal club sessions will only run if two or more bookings are received.

 

Dates Topic

18 April 2023

12-1pm

Integrated care- How Health and Social Care Work Together- Is it Working?

20 September 2023

4-5pm

Healthcare of the Future- the Role of Virtual Wards?

7 December 2023

2-3pm

Time Matters- Barriers that Affect Patient Discharges?

 

Please book using the form below, or email esneftlibrary@esneft.nhs.uk 

For more information tel. 01206 742146 ext. 2146 for Colchester and 01473 702544 ext. 1544 for Ipswich